Café Culture

There was a slice of café culture in the newest café on the block this morning before baking a lemon almond cake for my book group meeting on Wednesday.
Because it has to be a gluten free cake and I only bake a cake every 8 months, I like to get in early as the occasion is fraught with possibilities of complete failure resulting in my having to resort to the easy option of a bought meringue case filled with cream and fruit. As I write it is out of the oven and looking edible- relief all round.

Speaking of relief, I could only bring myself to watch the final of the Olympic tennis match, which I had recorded overnight, after hearing the result on the news this morning. Four hours of intense effort and Andy has done it again, though I can't help feeling the teeniest bit sorry for Del Potro who played magnificently.

What a Sunday of golden achievement for the Brits bringing them up to 2nd in the medal table after the US... And didn't Usain Bolt do well? What a character!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.