TINY TUESDAY - BORAGE OR STARFLOWER

I first came across this plant when I was working for a man who, although the owner of a central heating business, was about to open a Herb Nursery at his home, which was a farm in a small village quite near to where we worked.

Borage or more commonly known as Starflower, is a hardy annual and is white, stiff, prickly hairs along the stems and leaves - and hurt your fingers if you grasp them - I know!  Most of the flowers are bright blue, but I liked this delicate pink one.  

I’ve never actually used it as a herb, but apparently, when the leaves are steeped in water, they have a cucumber flavour and it can also be used with lemon, sugar and wine as a refreshing drink. It is said to be the vegetarian alternative to Cod Liver Oil.  The flowers can also be preserved and candied and I have often seen both the leaves and flowers used in salads - an all-round useful plant.

You might be interested to know that we went to Cirencester yesterday and I was really looking forward to my first coffee after three weeks of drinking only water - we went into a lovely coffee shop, but after 3 sips, I had had enough, so just drank my water and Mr. HCB finished my coffee.  We then found somewhere to have lunch - a sort of noodle bar - and although I could have had anything, chose the vegetarian option - amazing how three weeks can change your life and your choices. 

Lots to do in the garden today before the sun comes round, more fences to paint - but we bought some paint that can be used in the sprayer, so good job it’s golden chestnut, because I am sure to get some in my hair, so free highlights!

"The leaves and floures of Borrage put into wine make men and women glad and merry, driving away all sadnesse, dulnesse, and melancholy, as Dioscorides and Pliny affirme.  Syrrup made of the floures of Borrage comforteth the heart, purgeth melancholy, and quieteth the phrenticke or lunaticke person."
John Gerard
‘The Herball, or General Historie of Plantes’ (1597)

P.S.  A note from osuzanna about today's Tiny Tuesday : 
There are 5 Tuesdays in August and this week I (osuzanna) have some unexpected travel so I think it might be a good week to have another round of “Blipper’s Choice,” where you will actually get to vote as to who should receive hearts for their Macro entries into Tiny Tuesday. I encourage all entrants to browse through the images that are posted with the tag TT64 and send your top two selections to me as a comment by no later than Thursday midnight Eastern Daylight time (US). I will post the results with my blip on Friday.
Be sure to use the tag TT64 and pass the word around."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.