REMEMBERING

I don’t remember seeing much of my cousins when I was younger because my Mother and her sister were often at loggerheads, so we didn’t  get together that often, except perhaps at family weddings or funerals.

Back in about August 1995, I had a call from my cousin, Graham’s wife, Jean to say that he was very poorly and wanted to see me.  Of course, I went to see him and we had a lovely time together reminiscing.  He died in October of that year and I am pleased to say that I have kept in touch with Jean over the years, which has been great.

She has two daughters and grandchildren now and got in touch with me a couple of weeks ago after Graham’s sister, Linda, died to ask if she could come to see me with one of her granddaughters, Jess, to find out more about the Family History research I have been doing for many years.

It was lovely to see them and we went through the various Family Trees so that she could see who her ancestors were.  I had printed off several items relating to her Grandfather, Graham and his family and she was delighted to see all the information because she was born in 1996, a year after her Grandfather had died.  She took pictures of photographs, Marriage Certificates, Death Certificates and lots of other documents that I had amassed over the years, but we are still no wiser about our Great Grandmother, Mabel Gertrude Williams!  Jess did tell me that she had pounced on an envelope she had found after Linda died with the name “Mabel Gertrude” on it, but sadly, it was empty!

Jess was particularly interested in the Family Bible and as it dated back to 1850 said she felt she should be wearing white gloves when she touched it - if only it could reveal its secrets!

Just before Jean and Jess left, I asked if I could take a photograph and they reluctantly agreed!  We then stood in the kitchen for a further ten minutes, listening to stories that Jean told us about Graham.  After waving them off, a few minutes later there was a ring at the doorbell.  I could see Jess’s car on the drive, so went to the door and asked what they had forgotten - Jean brought out some lovely flowers from behind her back and said “Nothing, but we are so grateful to you for the time you spent with us and for all the work you have done!”  I told her I don’t often get given flowers - most of mine are in the garden - so that might even be Friday’s Blip sorted!

"If you don't recount your family history, 
     it will be lost. 
Honor your own stories 
     and tell them too. 
The tales may not seem very important, 
     but they are what binds families 
          and makes each of us who we are."
Madeleine L'Engle 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.