TINY TUESDAY

While we were out on Sunday and I was walking by myself, I picked up an oak branch that had obviously broken off and I was thrilled to see a little acorn still in its cup.  

I’m not sure why I was so excited about this, but because I love all nature, to see something close up gives me a lot of pleasure.  I’m not quite so keen on insects, but something like this just fills me with wonder - the beauty, shape, colour and the intricacy of it and I purposely set it on our oak sideboard to photograph it.  Of course, this little acorn will not fulfil its potential and grow into a tree - unless of course, I plant it and even then it won’t happen in my lifetime! 

We are going to Marlborough this morning to meet Neil, an old friend of our son, Jules, who lives in Vietnam - they go back a long time, so I’m sure we will find plenty to chat about.  Perhaps we might even find out what happened when they went to Amsterdam many years ago!!

This afternoon, I am meeting Amy, a lady from our Church who comes originally from Hong Kong, and taking her to see the lady we met when we were in Bath last week - who also comes from Hong Kong - I’m sure they will have lots to talk about.

A busy day ahead - it’s hard work being retired!

"Think of the fierce energy
     concentrated in an acorn!
You bury it in the ground,
     and it explodes into
          an oak!"
George Bernard Shaw

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.