TWO HEARTS AND A CROSS

One thing I didn’t mention about my visit to Devizes yesterday was a lovely incident in the shop where I bought the Christmas present, The Bay Tree in Market Place.

After the young lady (and I found out later her name was Marcia) had wrapped the present in tissue paper and put it into a paper bag, I got out my purse to pay her.  I always keep a few little wooden hearts in my purse, (if anyone is interested, I buy them in The Range - and they are £1 for 40), and often give them to people, just to bless them.  I don’t make a big thing of it, but just press one into the palm of their hand, usually saying something like “This is to bless you today.”  I did this to Marcia and she was delighted. I explained why I did it - that I was a Christian and just wanted to spread a little love around.

I have given these to many people including shop assistants, bus drivers, random people when I am out and about and often to friends, since I lead the service at our Church last September and am amazed at how they are received.  Of themselves, they are nothing - just a little piece of wood in the shape of a heart and painted red, pink or white - but the impact they have is very surprising.  I truly believe that a simple gesture of kindness and thanks means such a lot to people who are often put down and criticised and it really does bring a smile to their faces, even big, burly bus drivers!  Mind you, I have to tell people now that they are not edible, as one friend went to put it in his mouth!

Yesterday, when I gave the heart to Marcia, there was another lady in the shop and she, too, said that it was a lovely thing to do and she had obviously heard the exchange I had with Marcia, so I got another one out of my purse and gave it to her, to bless her.

She immediately got out of her bag, this little pouch with a cross inside, which she said she makes herself and she also gives these out to random people.  I was absolutely delighted;  we exchanged names - she was called Betty and was from Ascot - a random meeting - or was it?  She said it was a “God-incidence” - and I will probably never see her again - but I have one of her little crosses, which is beautiful.

There was a little piece of paper in with the cross and this is what it said:

I carry a cross in my pocket - a simple reminder to me,
     Of the fact that I am a Christian, no matter where I may be.
This little cross is not made of magic nor is it a good luck charm,
     It is not meant to protect me from every physical harm.
It is not for identification for all the world to see,
     It is simply an understanding between my Saviour and me.
When I put my hand in my pocket to bring out a coin or a key,
     The cross is there to remind me of the price He paid for me.
It reminds me to be thankful for my blessings day to day,
     And to try to serve Him better in all I do and say.
It is also a daily reminder of the peace and comfort I share,
     With all who know the Master and give themselves into His care.
So I carry the cross in my pocket reminding no-one but me,
     That Jesus Christ is the Lord of my life - if only I will let Him be.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.