FOOLISH FRIDAY AND NOT SILLY SATURDAY!

It was a very rainy morning so Mr. HCB wasn’t able to go out into the garden, but we have several vouchers for a nearby Garden Centre, so decided to go over there to see if we could spend them - we need to do it quite soon, though, as they expire on 31st August.

We had a wander around and as we are contemplating making a pond in our garden for the wildlife around, we walked through the aquatic area but as the things we wanted to see were outside, had to take an umbrella, otherwise we would have got drenched.  As soon as I saw this huge gorilla, which stood about 10 feet tall, I thought I needed to take a photograph as I didn’t know if I would see anything else to Blip today so Mr. HCB kindly held the umbrella over me while I took the shot.  However, I cannot imagine who would want this in their garden - we didn't ask the price, but doubt we would have had enough vouchers!

As I am an honest person, and fully endorse the ethos of Blip, I couldn’t use it for my Silly Saturday shot as it had been taken today, so decided that I would have my own challenge today and call it Foolish Friday!

We didn’t buy anything as there was a queue a mile long and only one lady on the till, so that will have to wait for another day.

I have spent all afternoon with my Mum, cleaning and dusting the cupboards in her lounge and in the process, getting rid of mountains of useless rubbish  things she has kept, “just in case”, pens that no longer write and receipts going back to the year dot!  It certainly looks much tidier, but I am “cream crackered”, especially as she wanted to look at everything before it was consigned to the rubbish bag, which I understand, but of course, once she saw old photographs, that set her going, which made the job three times as long as it would have been.  

In her bureau were three staplers, at least four rolls of sellotape, complete with holders, numerous boxes of drawing pins and so many purses and keyrings, she could have opened her own shop.  She kept saying, “I don’t know why I saved that” - so out it went.  She even had a letter from Tony Blair, when he was Prime Minister,  but told me not to throw that away, “just in case”!!    I didn’t ask why she had written to him - but know where that will end up eventually.

However, I have to say, it was a very pleasant time - and when I arrived home after nearly four hours, Mr. HCB was very understanding.  As I was leaving she said, “Next time you come, perhaps we can do the cupboard with all my glasses  and china!”  That would be the “Royal ‘we’ then” I guess!

“Just because something belongs to you 
     doesn't mean you should keep it 
          for the rest of your life. 
Things are meant to be transitory.” 
Susan Wright

P.S.  Thank you all so much for your kind comments and stars for yesterday’s Blip - the washing would certainly NOT have dried outside today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.