BUSY BEES

Mr. HCB and I decided to go over to another garden centre this morning so that we could use our vouchers and found a beautiful ruby-coloured grass, which is quite tall and will look beautiful swaying in the breeze and an achillea, both of which will look good in our now "not-so-new" border.  We had to put a little extra towards the plants, but hopefully they will like their new positions and give us years of pleasure.

It's been good watching the border go from bare soil to being planted and now growing well so although the rain yesterday was incessant, the plants will have loved it.

On our way into the garden centre, we stopped and watched lots of bees on the echinacea flowers and I took several photographs.  This little one was really enjoying burying its head in the pollen and watching it made me wonder if bees ever get hay fever!  A silly thought for Silly Saturday, but I decided not to take part in the challenge today, because I rather liked this little white-tailed bumblebee.  It was interesting to note that they ignored the white echinacea flowers and always seemed to land on the pink ones.  This little bee certainly had lots of pollen everywhere.

This afternoon it was over to my Mum’s again to do some more sorting out - we got rid of about 300 cards - birthday, Christmas, Mother’s Day and sympathy cards for when my Step-father died way back in 2000, so I think you could call her a hoarder.  

Then I sorted out her correspondence and have now made sure it is documented on the envelopes and stacked in boxes or put into the appropriate drawers in her bureau.  Another good afternoon’s work and she seemed happy with all that I had done but three hours of sorting out and the chat that goes with it can be very wearing, especially as she had to read all the cards before they could be consigned to the recycling bin.  So, lots done, but there is still more to do - but that will have to wait until next week now.

Then it was home to cook our meal and I am now very tired.  Thank you for all your kind comments yesterday - I did manage to get round to quite a few of you to comment, but not sure I will be able to do the same this evening.

“Your home is living space, 
     not storage space.” 
Francine Jay

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.