YOU CAN'T BEAT HOME GROWN!

I was out shopping just after 7.30 this morning because I needed to buy more onions and vinegar so that I can make some Courgette Chutney - because now it’s the turn of the courgettes to go mad and you can see the Tromboncinos in the background - mind you, the runner beans are catching up!

I had my breakfast when I got back and then Mr. HCB told me that he was going out picking more courgettes, beans, blackberries and tomatoes - I can see this is going to be another very busy day.

There is quite a nip in the air this morning, but I followed Mr. HCB out into the garden and was amazed to see how much the sweetcorn has grown in the last couple of days - after the rain and sunshine they have obviously put on a growth spurt.  We’re still not sure if the actual sweet corn cobs will fill out, but it’s interesting to see the flowers swaying in the wind.  

Here is Mr. HCB with a bowl full of beans - I love all his home grown produce, but am slowly feeling overwhelmed - after all, there is only so much chutney I can make!

Thank you for all your kind comments, stars and hearts for yesterday’s Blip - I gave a heart to the lady who served me at Morrisons;  she thanked me and said that she would incorporate it into a collage when she makes one with her son when she gets home later.

My Blip friend, Heidi, may come later - I think it may be cucumber sandwiches for tea - Mr. HCB says there are more of them to pick too.  

Better get on - lots to do - hope you all have a great weekend.

“Gardening simply does not allow one
     to be mentally old,
          because too many hopes and dreams
               are yet to be realised.”
Allan Armitage

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.