St Cyrus Walk

Must be the hottest day so far here this Summer  -  23C at one point. I haven't been to St Cyrus Nature Reserve for months so set out this afternoon to photograph Butterflies. It always has swarms of butterflies this time of year on sunny days.  Not a butterfly in sight 3.30pm!  One moth and two bees in an hour's walk!  What a disappointment - but then I have only seen one Tortoiseshell in my garden this year and a few Cabbage Whites.  Had to resort to photographing my own shadow lol!  You can see from that and the two insets that there was plenty of sun and colourful flowers. According to butterfly-conservation.org Sir David Attenborough is warning that this year’s slow spring and soggy summer could pose a risk to the UK’s common butterflies  -  this is certainly borne out by my St Cyrus experience today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.