Welcome to Canada

While getting ready to go to the border this morning my dad became very worried he wouldn't make it to school on time. He didn't want to get in trouble being late. SIGH...  

Up to the border I went and declared I might be ineligible to cross.I was told to park the pickup in stall 5, leave it unlocked for an inspection and then go to waiting line B. Once inside after waiting my turn I let them know why I was there and what I wanted to do.. Just a few questions were asked and I was fine to cross again. Even though I found out I could have asked for this years ago because no drugs or alcohol were involved, without the documentation, it would have been left up to the officer at the border crossing to say yes or no. Now it is official. Happy Happy Guy...

The Canadian Officers we so nice and polite with half of them unarmed. The American side was Militaristic. Everyone was armed, lots of concrete and just all business only..  Thanks Canada for making me feel welcome. 

I then walked the famous Peace Arch Park. The view on the left in on the Washington State side looking into Canada. Middle is the reverse. On the right is the railroad crossing looking out into the bay. 

Peace Arch Historical State Park is a unique 20-acre day-use park that lies on the boundary between the United States and Canada. The 67-foot Peace Arch monument sit on the border of the two nations at the 49th parallel. The arch was constructed to commemorate the 100th anniversary of the treaties that were a result of the War of 1812 with Great Britain. This was the first structure in the world to celebrate lasting peace, planned and developed in conjunction with the Canadian Peace Arch Provincial Park. More can be found here

In the extra the bay looking back into Washington, Canadian flag in flowers (America had one too), Zillions of blips of flowers with this being  a tiny section. Of course I had to add these birds that were not only trying to figure out what they were perched on but how to legally cross the border ;-)

A very good day

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.