ABSTRACT THURSDAY - MIRRORS

I was out of the house by 6.30 this morning so that I could go and take a photograph in the centre of town before it got busy.  I never realised just how many people are out and about at that time nor how many people travel at 60 mph along a dual carriageway with a speed limit of 40 mph.

My destination was Fleet Street where a few weeks ago I had noticed some beautiful gates and had slotted them into my mind for a future blip - today was the day, as the challenge set by Youoregon1 is Abstract with a twist of mirrors - sorry didn’t read the brief properly and couldn’t get the cemetery angle in.

The gates are not actually mirrors, as we know them, but have a mirror finish, which I thought fitted the challenge well.  You can see the red buildings opposite reflected in the gates and if you look carefully, you can see me in my yellow top and trousers.

I was saddened, however, to see a man sleeping in a doorway  just across the street - see extra - and I agreed with a man passing by that no-one should have to sleep like that.  I decided when I had finished taking photographs to go to a nearby newsagents and buy him something to eat.  Had an amusing conversation with the owner, who couldn’t speak much English.  

“I want to buy something for a homeless guy in a doorway round the corner, what do you think he would like?”  

“I dunno, ask him.”  

“I can’t, he’s asleep - I just want something to put down beside him.”  

He must have thought I said “I just want to give him some cider” because he then said, “Don’t give him cider, they drink too much alcohol!”

I bought a sandwich and a Mars bar - when I took them over, the guy was just waking up - so I gave them to him and got a thumbs up sign.  I know it was a warm night, but a pavement is never a good place to sleep.  I just hope he enjoys his breakfast.

There are two ways 
     of spreading light - 
          to be the candle
               or the mirror
                    that reflects it.
Edith Wharton 1862-1937

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.