FLOWER FRIDAY

I woke this morning to blessèd rain - and I really do mean that - our garden was desperately in need of some and already the plants look better and seem to be smiling instead of wilting.

However, there were one or two that had been waiting for so long that they had almost given up - like these two marigolds.  I can imagine one saying to the other “I was only out in the rain for 5 minutes and look what it’s done to my hair - I give up!”

Made me think of people who are waiting for something to happen in their lives - yesterday it was young people waiting for their “A” level results and I was so pleased to hear someone on the radio saying that even if they didn’t get the grades they wanted, parents needed to tell their children, of whatever age, that it is all right to fail.  

One of the lads at our church finished his first year at college with very low grades, which might have seemed like failure, but with the support of his lovely parents and his teachers at college, he turned it around, did that first year again and has now finished with As and a Distinction in Medical Science, so will now be on his way to Bournemouth University to study Forensic Investigation.  A wonderful example of someone who turned apparent failure into success!

It can be done but we have to apply ourselves and if we get knocked down, just get back up and start again.  I know from my own experience that it’s easy to say but difficult to do, but the rewards are worth all the effort.  

"I can accept failure - 
     everyone fails at something,
         but I can’t accept
               not trying again."
Michael Jordan

P.S.  I don't often look at the Popular page, and even though I do most challenges, I don't get many hearts or honourable mentions, but I must admit that I was pleased to see that my Blip yesterday of the beautiful gates is now on Page 1 - so thank you everyone.  I just hope that the guy I saw yesterday managed to find a dry spot last night and that someone is kind to him today.  M xx 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.