FLOWER FRIDAY - WITH A BONUS!

I wonder if you remember me?  I came to visit Mr. & Mrs. HCB’s garden early in July, and since then have been popping back occasionally to see how things are and whether they are still putting out goodies to feed the birds.

I get all sorts in this garden from nuts to sunflower hearts and even some very tasty suet balls - they are so kind.  Well, Mrs. HCB is kind - the only “shooting” she does is with her camera but that Mr. HCB he is a “piece of work”!  

Whereas Mrs. HCB is quite happy to take photographs of me through her conservatory window, that Mr. HCB bangs on the window, chases me with his big pokey stick and, you won’t believe this, has even put down a “humane” trap to try and catch me!  Unbelievable!  

I know that he has borrowed this from his friend, Trevor, who reckoned that before long, I would be in there and BANG - the door would be shut and then Mr. HCB could take me far away out into the countryside and set me free and no squirrels would be hurt.

However, I’m cleverer than that - I can manage to put my paw into the trap, get the peanuts out and dash off without the door banging.  How clever am I?  I’ll show that Mr. HCB that he can’t mess with Sammy Squirrel!  I heard Mr. HCB commenting to Mrs. HCB today “Don’t you worry, Sammy Squirrel, it’s now a vendetta and I WILL get you!”  We will see.

Mr. HCB has removed the plastic bird feeders, mainly because I chewed through them and left them on the floor empty, but this one today wasn’t as easy to chew through as it’s wire, but give me time and I’ll do it.  

I could see Mrs. HCB taking photographs, so I willingly posed next to a beautiful yellow flower, so that she had her Blip for Flower Friday.  How kind am I?  It sounds as if it is now “all out war” between Mr. HCB and me - I know I have youth on my side and I can scamper much faster than he can, but I know that humans can be quite wily, so I will have to be careful.  I know they don’t want to hurt me but how can they begrudge a poor little squirrel a good meal now and again?

Here’s some good advice given to me by my parents when I was younger:

Plan ahead.
Stay active.
Spend time in the woods.
Raid all the bird feeders you can find.
If in doubt, jump higher than humans.
Go out on a limb.
It’s OK to be a little nuts.

P.S.  Thank you for all your kind comments in the last couple of days - not quite sure what hit me, but I am feeling much better today, thank you. Mrs. HCB. xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.