AND IF I JUST KEEP QUIET.....

…..and sit here motionless, making no noise whatsoever, then perhaps that lady with the big black camera round her neck will go back indoors, instead of following me around the garden whilst I am trying to eat my breakfast.

I must admit that they are very kind people - well, they are most of the time.  They put out lots of seeds and peanuts and I think that the lady, who I believe is called Mrs. HCB, even makes suet cakes filled with nuts and seeds.  They do try and make life quite difficult though because they put these suet cakes into wire containers - why can’t they just put them on the ground, or even on the table in the blue corner, so I could get at them easier?  Now I have cleared out the sunflower hearts, I do need to be more flexible when I try to get hold of the suet cake - as you will see from the extra photograph.

I have to say that Mr. HCB is not quite as kind - he has a very long bamboo stick and sometimes just as I am getting stuck in to my evening meal, out he comes, brandishing his stick and shoos me off.  I wouldn’t mind, but last night I had already been seen off by several magpies and crows.  Don’t those birds realise that it’s not only them those kind people are feeding. 

Perhaps we ought to try and live peaceably together and take our turns at feeding - after all, that’s what happens in the human world, isn’t it?  Doesn’t everyone look out for each other and share what they have?  If some have more than others, don’t they give some of their belongings away?  Well, that’s how life should be - at least that’s what my Mum and Dad told me when I was a baby squirrel but it seems that the more we have the more we want and the less we want to share - perhaps we all need to learn more!”

"Happiness is not so much
     in having as sharing;
          we make a living by what we get,
but we make a life
     by what we give."
Norman MacEwan

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.