TreeHugger

By TreeHugger

Out on a Limb

Today, for the first time, I joined a group of bird watchers and walked through Gemmill Swamp Nature Reserve, just out of Shepparton, listening for various sounds and trying to spot the slightest movement in the trees, on the water, and in the grass.  Our leader identified 55 species, but then he has been doing this for 50 years.  I had about four (you know, the obvious ones - kookaburra, magpie, duck, cockatoo! ) As for getting  good bird photo? I need to be out there a lot more and I also need some lessons from Beckett and perhaps Mike Poole.
However, I was lucky that our group spotted this Australian wood duck, on a limb, about 30ft up a gum tree. It posed beautifully while we clicked away. I did think it would have been a good contender for the high dive in the AOG, but of course, the water events are finished. I had no idea that ducks would perch so high. This is a male, indicated by its rich brown head. The ringed teal is apparently its closest living relative.
My extra is a heron, one of our fresh water birds, but I am unable to give you more information, being very new to this activity. Not such a good shot, but I really like the effect of the shimmering water of the swamp. It was a great experience so I will go again.

Thanks to everyone who popped in on my journal, leaving copious stars, comments and hearts. I really appreciated every one of them.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.