Oosterschelde in Loch Broom

When Maeve the Deerhound and I were out not long after 7am I saw  the Dutch three masted topsail Schooner Oosterschelde coming up Loch Broom towards Ullapool. I had seen this ship in Campbeltown on the 30th of July. I got some pictures. Maeve and I walked round by the Ceilidh Place and cut down to the shore in time to see the Schooner come round the headland and approach the harbour. There was some early morning mist burning off and the low sun made for rather nice pictures.

I dropped Apothecary7 off at Bridge House Art just after 9am. Eleanor was in the studio but no one else was around. 

Maeve and I set off for Ardmair. As I was driving over the top of the big hill out of Ullapool I noticed the ferry coming in through the Summer Isles. I turned off on the Rhue road and went along until I found somewhere to stop with a good view over Loch Broom. I got out and took some pictures as the ferry came along. Then I turned the car and went to Ardmair. 

We had a wander round through the caravan park and along by the little pier in the quiet bay at the other side of the point. A family was on the pier enjoying the view. The couple and I had a chat while their boy and girl made a fuss of Maeve. We went back round to the other bay where the car was and sat on the beach for a while. Apothecary7 had told me they were going to Ardmair to paint today but there was no sign of them by the time I left to go back to town. Passing Bridge House Art at ten past eleven there they were just loading up the cars. I parked outside the house then Maeve and I went round to the Ceilidh place for coffee and a scone. I can't remember a week when we have been able to sit in the sunshine outside the Ceilidh Place for so many days in one holiday. We sat at a table with a parasol so Maeve could have shade (and she had a drink from a dog bowl !) and had a chat with a German couple who were at the table. The were heading to Skye later and were thinking the coastal route would take a long time. I showed them how they could go back towards Inverness, turn just before Garve and take the road that goes past Plockton and on to Kyle.

Maeve and I walked down to the harbour and went to have a look at the Schooner which was moored near the ferry terminal. Then we had a potter around the harbour and then went along Shore Street and back by Argyll Street to the house. We had a chat with the lady who owns the house. She was working in her veg garden. Maeve found a shady place near the front of the garden and stayed there while I had some lunch.

In the afternoon Maeve and I went back to Ardmair. The artists were on the beach. Maeve and I walked round the the pier where we knew Apothecary7 would be likely to be. We found her and I gave her the bottle of fizzy water I had brought from the fridge, Eleanor appeared, on one of her rounds of the artists to offer advice. She came out on the pier to chat with Maeve and I then went down to the little beach to speak to Apothecary7. I decided to leave the artist in peace and went back to the car to read. 

I collected Apothecary7 from Bridge House Art about 5pm. 

Later we met Houseonahill6 and her husband for dinner at The Ceilidh Place. Lovely dinner, excellent company. We all went round to the house for tea, blethering, and much laughing before it was time for the concert at The Ceilidh Place that Houseonahill6 and her husband were attending. They are staying overnight in a B&B before heading home tomorrow.

DMC-LX7 f/3.21/1600 sec. ISO-80 12m (35mm focal length 60mm)


Extras:
1. Stone tower, Ardmair
2. Ardmair beach ...with stone tower
3. Ben Mor Coigach 
4. Oosterschelde in Ullapool
5. UL7 beached, Ullapool

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.