MV Loch Seaforth in Loch Broom

...  Rhue lighthouse and Beinn Ghobhlach

Apothecary7 was thinking about the painting she wanted to do today and had mentioned her idea to Eleanor yesterday. The idea had been sparked by some photos we took at the harbour earlier in the week. Asked not to work from a photograph but from obervation this presented a problem. When we went out with Maeve the Deerhound late last night we came up with a plan to get up early and go to the harbour for some sketching. So, this morning we got up at 6am and set off for the harbour. While Apothecary7 was sketching Maeve and I wandered round and I took some pictures and had a good close look at Oosterschelde.

I dropped Apothecary7 off at Bridge House Art just after 9am. 

Maeve and I set off for Ardmair. As I was driving over the top of the big hill out of Ullapool I thought I might get a picture of the ferry coming in past Rhue lighthouse , so I took the road to Rhue and went right along the single track road to the little car park at the end. Fleece jacket required as it was cooler today and there was a good breeze. I left Maeve in the car as there is a small gate or a fence to negotiate to  get to either the beach or the lighthouse and a lot of bracken where ticks often lurk. I walked down the hill to the pebbly beach then walked along the shore and took one of the narrow paths along through the bracken to the lighthouse. There are great views from the lighthouse across Loch Broom to Beinn Ghobhlach, and a different angle over Isle Martin to Ben Mor Coigach. The ferry was about half an hour later than it has been this week but it eventually came in through the Summer Isles and made its way up the loch towards Ullapool. So, even on holiday, I have managed a ferry Friday. I wandered back down to the beach and made my way back to the car then Maeve and I resumed out drive to Ardmair. 

We got to Ardmair and parked then had a wander round through the caravan park and along by the little pier in the quiet bay at the other side. Fleece jacket again. Bright enough but not as sunny as it has been. We got back to the car and I was putting my camera and jacket in the boot when I noticed Oosterschelde coming out of Loch Broom. An interesting sight today with some sails up on the forward mast. I watched for a minute or two as she sailed out towards the Summer Isles.

We were back in ullapool not long after 11am. No parasols up at The Ceilidh Place today, and no one sitting outside. Not deterred Maeve kept us a table and I went in to order our scone and a hot chocolate for me. We sat at a different table today and watched the world go by for a while. Then we had a wander along Shore Street and came back along towards the house. The sun had appeared and it was warmer. I decided to try something from the Seafood Shack for lunch. We walked along and I ordered Cullen Skink which we took back to the house. Maeve lay out in the garden while I had lunch. Delicious !

We went back to Ardmair for the rest of the afternoon. We had another wander round, then I finished my book (Coffin Road by Peter May) sitting at the back of the beach. Maeve lay on the grass briefly. Breezy today but still bright, warm, and dry.

I collected Apothecary7 from Bridge House Art about 5pm and once all the tidying and gathering of paintings and saying of goodbyes was done we went back to the house. Later we are going to the opening of the An Talla Solais members exhibition ...

E-PL5 f/8 1/400 sec. ISO-200 14mm

Extras:
1. Sunrise over Loch Broom
2. Oosterschelde leaving Loch Broom
3. Tin roof Rhue, with Beinn Ghobhlach
4. Rhue beach and lighthouse
5. Rhue lighthouse
6. Isle Martin and Ben Mor Coigach

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.