Talking Therapy

Since January, and his stroke this time last year, my 80 year old Dad's recovery NHS support plan has included sessions with a psychotherapist.  Much to his surprise he has found it really enlightening, thinking and talking about the 'rules' he has always lived by.  The strong silent type (expected of men of his era), he never talked feelings believing them a sign of 'weakness'. 

For the first time I'm having conversations with him about this - i.e. he doesn't need to be the one to fix everything - and am fascinated by the notes and suggestions made by the therapist which he shares with me (I studied Psychology at university after all).

I think this intervention has been THE most useful (of the many) that he is plugged into, and not least for his daughters who are desperate to support him with Mum's increasingly dependent Alzheimer's care too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.