Capital adventures

By marchmont

Moving on

Up early, which was just as well, as J's alarm didn't go off. Said farewell and did some work. The hope for a 'good drying day' proved ill founded.

I headed straight for the Parliament where the security queue was a lot longer than 4 mins at EDI. Sitting in the front row meant I had to fend off approaches from the BBC! The chat was good, the role of the Spad, not so sure about the chairing. And it would have been good to hear more of the 'gossipy' bits. I was supposed to go back for another event but once I got back to the office I stayed. The emails beckoned. And I stayed too long and ended up eating in the new French restaurant 'Cafe de la Poste'. The staff are French, the food ok. They will need to up their service game though. And outside it bucketed with soggy rain.

And then back along the road to the Festival Theatre for the ballet. I chatted with a visitor from Hawaii, what a long way to come, and then struggled to stay awake. The first piece was all male, very strong and almost like gymnastics. At the break the people in front of me left so I had a better view of the second piece, 'Emergence', which was also excellent. I tried to spot Gar's cousin, Aisling, but it proved difficult, mainly as I've never met her. These dancers are so thin. I am not!

At the end for once the crowds helped as it meant I caught the #7 so I was home before 10. The Olympics drag on. I know it's great if you're a fan, but if not? And then the BBC showed the same match at the same time on both channels 1 and 2. Bah humbug!

Molly is still spending a lot of her time next door and I really don't know what to do about it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.