Capital adventures

By marchmont

Where have all the people gone?

Whitechapel Road at nearly 10 on a Thursday morning.  Where have all the people gone?  To the Fringe that's where.  It was mizzley in Edinburgh but warm/muggy in London.  Spent the whole day in a stuffy, darkened (to keep the sun out) room where we weren't expected so lunch.  Luckily the Cafe is just around the corner.  It was an ok meeting, and we finished early which was a mixed blessing as I was on a much later train. But my tiredness (I'd been on the go since 5), the heat, my dehydration, my thumping head meant i did what I've never done in over 4 years of going up and down, I bought a new, expensive, ticket.  If I hadn't queued I could have got the delayed 3.00 but I didn't.

The Aberdeen train, though as usual a jumpy diesel, wasn't busy so it was an ok journey north and I did manage to doze for a bit of the way, as well as catching up on 4 days emails. 

My relatives are from Berwick, Vic, the waiter was from Berwick, Vic (and what a surprise THAT was for everyone.)  One of the extras is Berwick upon Tweed.  The other, a memorial to the White Chapel. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.