Filming

With everything else going on I forgot about the fact Calstock has been taken over by a film crew for the last few weeks! So today I had a walk with Nellie of the Woods to have a look at what they were up to! They are filming a 4 part series with Dawn French and Emilia Fox  called Delicious. Her brother lives in the village and she lives in Fowey so I guess there is the connection to a drama set in the "stunning Cornish countryside!"
So far they have filmed in the cafe, social club  ( made into a Dr's surgery!) the Arts Chapel ( made into a gym!!!) and today in a made up Art Gallery in the small place opposite the cafe. Nellie and I thought it was a new gallery in competition with the Limekiln Gallery and thought it was a very odd assortment of not very good art and pottery! Why they didn't use the Limekiln is beyond me even if just for the loan of some decent Art!!! 
They have taken over part of the playing field and stopped traffic on a regular basis! They have also been giving money to all the places used and even one person £100 to have a light put on their house! Suffice it to say the novelty has worn off for many of those living in the village centre and they are leaving tomorrow to be back in another month!
Nellie and I had our walk then settled in the cafe and watched all the goings on as they filmed outside. Well, what a lot of time waiting around for everyone with no action! The funniest thing we saw was the trolley of plants! They are obviously saving money by using the same plants in different locations, so I shall have fun playing spot the same plant when it finally airs! Slight issue in continuity might be the fact that they have not been watered and some are looking well wilted! The other issue may be that Nellie and I swapped seats and she took off her scarf - but as they were filming a young couple with a bike walking down the road I don't think we will be causing any continuity errors! It also transpires that they bused people in from Liskeard as extras - whats wrong with us locals?! 
Later in the eve Colourful Mai met me on the allotment and we had a good chat sitting round my incinerator fire with a glass of Ginger wine! We harvested my beans and mange tout and we both went home with pockets full of them! Ah village life! More filming and bits of Calstock here - if you get Sky you will soon be able to see  a lot of my village in moving technicolour!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.