Fernando Rubio: Everything by my side

Argentinian artist Fernando Rubio’s Everything by my side invites you to stop and take off your shoes amidst the urban hustle and bustle. In the boundary between sleep and wakefulness, time decelerates and forgotten memories rise to the surface through whispers.

The beds placed on Keskuskatu create intimate moments within the hectic public surroundings. This subtly moving performance challenges seven actors and willing passers-by to surrender to a visceral and surprising encounter.  The individual performances last 10 minutes and are in Finnish.

Everything by my side has earlier been seen in 11 cities, including Buenos Aires, Rio de Janeiro, New York, Santiago de Compostela, Ateena, Amsterdam and Gwangju.

-----------------

Run into this Helsinki Festival performance on my way to our rendez-vous with old class mates. Interesting concept.

Also the evening was very nice to catch up. It ended up with only 8 of us, but that way everyone was able to talk to everyone. Nice news like my roommate getting married YESTERDAY. To a 17 year younger man after 6 weeks of knowing him. Wow! I wish them all the luck and hope they make it. That's definitely one of the bravest things I've ever heard. 

Maarit has been thinking about relocating to Spain. So hopefully we'll see each other in Alicante some day.

It was so nice to catch up with everyone. Unfortunately I've been too sick to eat today, so I was drinking weak tee all night long. But for once I wasn't sad for that, because I actually had such a good time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.