Predicting Winter by counting mullein flowers

All computations are not correct. I feel sure that is a Universal Rule  writ somewhere. It has been my guiding philosophy all through school. It applies at times to blipping as well.


Our new and improved Blip Central sent me a congratulatory note and you may have received the an announcement email claiming that I ought to be celebrating my 1000th blip.  Not so. 
Way back in the fall of 2014 when the Original Blipfoto/Polaroid was falling apart someone deleted our 'miss winterfinch journal' from the face of the blip universe. 
Happily, many of her loyal fans discovered I had set up an emergency account called PD Budd which was the name of my literary cat. In time one of the best blip techs fixed the problem before he left. I wish I remembered his name. It could be Garret.
Anyway, an additional 34 of my blips are still posted on the PD Budd account -- although PD Budd, himself no longer lives to work on his account. He's in a cake box  buried in the back garden.
So, as they say, 'do the math': this blip of a mullein flower stalk is #1034. Sorry, but we all missed the party. Now about the calculations predicting winter.


I just read the Bavarian folklore from George Schorschi (15 August posting ) regarding the use of mullein flowers still on their stalk as of 15th August. This blip is a wee bit late. No problem--  George, the Bavarian blipper, says that he does not think it works anyway. It didn't for him last winter.
From the look of things here in my garden, we will have a mild winter and a heavy snow spring, again. Although those two flowering stalks trying to emerge from the sides of the main stalk make me nervous.


Here's what George said:
... check your mullein flowers. If the spikes are full of flowers, then get down to your local DIY and buy a snow shovel. Look at the entire spike and divide it by about 7, starting at the bottom read off from the flowers the approx seven winter months. The more flowers the more snow....


And there we are already thinking of snow on a 82ºF day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.