The Reluctant Cook

Whilst looking for two family birthday cards, I came upon this one which rang so many bells in my head that I might have designed it myself. It makes me giggle every time I see it, so I share it with you today.
I have a sizeable collection of cook books taking up space on my shelves, and hardly ever use any of the recipes therein. Usually there are so many ingredients required which are not in my cupboards that I quickly loose interest.

I suspect I am not alone. Closer to home a relative who died recently had a collection of 2,500 American cook books- yes, 2,500, but we were usually served a bowl of soup and a Forfar birdie if we popped in for lunch.She admitted she preferred reading cook books to reading novels.
Never has the French phrase 'chacun à son gôut' been more appropriate as a pun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.