WIDE ANGLE WEDNESDAY - A VISIT TO MARLBOROUGH

I could have been a little maudlin today as it is five years since Son Number 2 left the UK and made his home thousands of miles away.  He is now living near Bangkok and says he is “living the dream” so if he’s happy, I’m happy - well, most of the time.  Mr. HCB and I haven’t seen him since he left although thanks to Son Number 1 we get cheap telephone calls, so we do speak to him from time to time - and it’s a good opportunity for him and his Dad to talk about football.  I also keep up with what he is doing on Facebook - and then relate it to Mr. HCB but it’s not quite the same as seeing someone!

However, I decided that moping around whilst Mr. HCB had gone to cricket was NOT the thing to do, so took myself off to Marlborough - a lovely little market town about 12 miles away.  I saw these little cottages on the way down the hill to the car park, and decided that as I had never photographed them before, they would be my Blip for Wide Angle Wednesday.  

I had a lovely morning just mooching around, but it isn’t quite the same when you go into a cafe and just have water to drink, as I am still not drinking coffee - mainly because I no longer have a “taste” for it - unbelievable and those who know me well will think so too.

I came back on the main road and then turned off onto our favourite road through Liddington and stopped to take another wide angle photograph, which is in as my extra for today.

Another very hot day, so I hope Mr. HCB and his friend, Keith, have managed to find some shade.  I do know that they were intending to walk down the road at lunchtime to buy a pasty, which they ordered yesterday, and which is huge, by all accounts, so he won’t want much when he gets home.  

“You can kiss your family and friends 
     good-bye 
          and put miles between you, 
but at the same time 
     you carry them with you in your heart, 
          your mind, your stomach, 
because you do not just live in a world 
     but a world lives in you.”
Frederick Buechner

P.S.  For those who don’t know the meaning of the word “maudlin” - it means self-pityingly or tearfully sentimental - but I wasn't!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.