mef13

By mef13

Green Fingers?

I’m never too sure just what to do to achieve the right balance of colour at the front door.
I look with admiration at what my neighbours have done with carefully placed potted plants, others with colourful borders and even with plain steps and one strategically placed plant.
Then there is the decision of harmony of colour which has to be made at an early stage, long before there is any sign of colour in the plants or shrubs themselves.
One year I chose honeysuckle which gave a marvellous depth of colour and a gorgeous aroma, but it can quickly become straggly and more unsightly than decorative. So the honeysuckle was moved. At one stage I considered sweet peas because they provide lasting blooms throughout the summer.
Well, that’s the theory, but I am afraid the rather expensive and well established looking plants I bought from the gardening section of a well known supermarket just didn’t live up to expectations — a total of four blooms on 20 plants. And those blooms withered in days!

Thankfully my thoughts of relying on geraniums and moving two hydrangeas from pots to garden border paid off.  I shall look forward to next year when the hydrangea have really had chance to get established.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.