Anne Hathaway's Cottage

When I was planning this trip, I thought I'd take hubby on a train ride today to visit Warwick Castle, and had completely forgotten about Anne Hathaway's Cottage.  I found it pretty 15 years ago and it still is.

First, we walked to Holy Trinity Church and visited Shake's grave (his wife's, eldest daughter's and sons-in-law's were there, too) and then on to Shottery.  It wasn't so hot yet then.  Hubby enjoyed the gardens so much we spent more time there than I had anticipated.  Indeed, the best laid plans of mice and men ... haha!  He enjoyed shaking the plums off the plum trees and then eating the ripe fruit.  I prefer the not-so-ripe, so I got those -- yummm!  We even took the Woodland Walk and hung around the refreshment shop.  By the time we were done, though, the heat had become so intense I turned sluggish.  We walked a lot more slowly to the train station and there was no more time.  There used to be a direct rail link between Stratford and Warwick but no more and it would have taken at least an hour to get there, so we just scrapped that.  We passed by the hotel where I had dinner all those years ago and had afternoon tea, after which we returned to the B&B to get some rest before dinner, which we had in a really good Thai restaurant.

BLIPmeet tomorrow ... exciting!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.