Wide-Angle Wednesday: Newcastle Haymarket

Another busy day, with a fair bit of time spent continuing some proof-reading of his Masters' degree thesis in history for Son#3 (it's due in on Friday - great!). (Why did I ever think life would be quieter when I retired...?!)

Anyway I did have a moment to pop into town and then got the idea of taking a fisheye photo in the Haymarket for Widwed. It had to be taken just on my phone with the clip-on lens but it's remarkable what they can achieve. I particularly like the way the war memorial with its angel on the top bends inwards (on the right of the picture). It used to be called "the Mucky Angel" when I was a lad but it was cleaned up many years ago so you can't really call it that now. (NB It's nothing to do with the Gateshead Angel by Anthony Gormley).

It was only when I got home that I noticed that one gentlemen seems to be climbing into a bubble (caused by a reflection on the lens). Maybe it's a new space-age form of personal transport...!  ;-))

Many thanks once more to Bobsblips for looking after Widwed; he's given us free rein to do whatever subjects we like at the moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.