Dragonfly at Old Moor yesterday

We organised a camera club outing to the RSPB Old Moor Reserve yesterday where six of us enjoyed our afternoon visit, the sun shone and if anything it was a bit too warm.  There were lots of dragonflies around in the reserve, insects I'm not very familiar with.  As I like to put names to creatures I've been trying to look this one up and I wonder if it is a female `Keeled Skimmer'.  Sounds a bit exotic though, so my alternative choice is a male `Common Darter'.  Any help with identification would be greatly appreciated.
It was lovely to see so many Lapwings on the reserve, they've suffered such a decline since my childhood, maybe they've all gathered at Old Moor!  At one point they were flying together and it was a wonderful sight.  Other sightings included a Black-tailed Godwit which was clearly finding rich pickings in the mud.  I think the last one I saw was on the Farne Islands (and we saw lots of Bar-tailed Godwits when we last visited Australia).  I also picked out a small wader which I'm not sure about and which I've included as an extra.  I've been looking at the recent sightings page and I'm still not too sure about it. Oh and three egrets - things must be getting warmer!

Tai Chi in the morning, and a little drama as we hadn't got a key in the pack and although there are lots of key holders in the village we couldn't find anyone in.  Fortunately we located M who had been hanging out her washing.  We thought we were going to have to do Tai Chi on the grass at the back of our house!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.