Early Morning at the Station

... and only one other person catching the Huddersfield train.  (The sleepy eyed students that usually gather here at 7 am will still have been in bed _ I guess.  A new term next week and probably some new faces.)  I'd debated whether to drive across the moors to Hadfield to catch the train and wished I had when I had to stand on the trans-pennine train from Huddersfield to Manchester.

Some time to talk with Sean at Hot Bed in the morning.  I've been bit `at sea' recently with printmaking and not sure which direction I wanted to take things.  I ended up showing him some mono-prints that I'd done several years ago which were based on a fairly free approach - drawing with small rollers (which he liked).  I've never been quite able to work out in my own head whether they were finished or not.  The chat helped me think it through a bit more and I've decided to apply the same kind of approach to the printmaking that I've been doing with the drawings, i.e. keep working on the same theme until the image feels right.  I managed a couple of mono-prints which followed on from the Danby Beacon watercolour drawing using the Caligo ink.  I need lots of space to work like this and fortunately the fact that there were few people around yesterday was working in my favour.

The development of ideas - starting with a drawing of the beacon, working it out in colour and then trying it as a mono print.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.