View from the Rotunda - Version 3

I've been enjoying drawing with the bamboo pen using the brush ink.  This is a continuation of the series I began earlier.  Each time I draw (mainly from memory) I think I get something new that I feel happy with.  I've also made a first attempt at capturing the essence of the Danby Beacon landscape, this time using some colour which has made things trickier to work with, especially as all of the materials are water based and bleed into one another.  I think it's a bit confusing around the base of the hill at the moment and perhaps the background isn't recessive enough.  I think it's good for me to work in this less precise way as in my normal outdoor sketching mode I tend to look for too much detail - I need to work on creating time limited sketches.
Some additional preparation for printmaking in Salford tomorrow.  Hopefully I will feel in the mood to get on with some experimental prints - maybe think of them print sketches.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.