She Hasn't Taken Me for a Walk!

That's true! I was going to, honest, but it started raining. Chucking it down in fact, so both Basil and I have vegged today.

An alert on Facebook prompted me to motor to Sainsbury's at Fosse Park where Genius Foods, who make gluten free bread and other products, were supposed to be holding a 'food fair.' The prospect of freebies and finding out about new products appealed.

To be honest, it was a bit of a damp squib. I did manage to snack on a few bits of margarined bagel, but there were no new products to see until one of the guys on duty went round the back and brought out a new farmhouse seeded loaf. I did derive satisfaction from telling them my story about diagnosis as a coeliac and also that the NHS are planning to stop prescribing gluten free bread. Which they didn't seem to have heard about, except for one.

I also told them their bread was too expensive. Would you pay £3 for a loaf of bread?

I picked up a pair of trousers in the sale then crossed the road to M&S where I discovered 'The Deli.' Some marvellous salads on offer. M&S also uses quinoa rather than pasta, which makes them gluten free. I bought a selection. More taste than a meal, as the prices are a bit on the high side.

Then I went to the cafe. How could I do it??!! I selected some egg sandwiches. The labelling was green and the first word on the description was Free. I really should take care to read in more details. They were Free Range egg sandwiches, but NOT FREE FROM. Hence I have eaten wheat bread for the first time in 29 years.  At the moment, I feel OK, but things might be different by the end of the night.

I asked to see the manager and pointed out the similarity of the colour of the packaging to M&S free from goods.  She apologised profusely. I just suggested that she forward a recommendation that more design thought should go into distinguishing vegetarian from Gluten free options.

So home. Basil has got steadily more sulky over the afternoon, but I really am not taking him out in pouring rain. Listening to Radio Leicester this afternoon, I heard that it rained so hard there that the ball stopped moving on the ground because of the water.

Glad that Leicester won against the Swans.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.