ciorstain

By ciorstain

The Burgh

Today we were going to the Partick Farmer's Market. Seems like a long time since were were there last. We did not buy much, because we are desperately trying to work down our freezer. We seem to be stuffing it up as if there is no tomorrow and as soon as we have managed to create a space, it will be filled again.....! I am determined to break this vicious circle!
On the way home we discussed if we are going to the Edinburgh Festival today or not. We managed to create some daft misunderstanding between each other the day before.
We had planned the fringe for that date since weeks and usually Neil puts together a nice program for that day, I just cannot cope with the huge and overwhelming program.
So I asked yesterday what we are going to see and Neil stated he had not booked anything because he assumed that after my tough week I probably wanted a quiet Saturday. (Assumed!! Why didn't he ask me?) 
Since I did not want the evening spoilt with Neil reading the Fringe Program for hours, I said ok, we can do that if you wish.
Today, when we walked home he suddenly  asked where I wanted to have dinner in Edinburgh??? Eh??
Well - I thought we are not going? He said, I don't think we decided that?
Well - the usual men vs woman brain thing :) 
After a little re-adjustment in my head (I was totally tuned into a quiet Saturday now.) we decided to drive over for the evening and see what we can do and that we in any case go and see our favourite late night show with Lily de Scala.
Neil checked more shows, while I had a nap.We set off about 6 and got trapped on the motorway. Huge traffic congestion due to road works.
But we did arrive in Edinburgh after 1.5 hrs or so.
I had my camera and hoped for a bit of remaining daylight when we hit the high street.
So I aimed to directly walk to the Royal Mile. Neil said, he wanted to buy the tickets first, he had not booked them yet ...... I was a bit surprised as shows sell out quickly and Lily is awesome! Online booking is no fuss at all.
So we went to the box office, and ... yes .... it was sold out!!
No tickets, no Lily de Scala, no plan ... after 8 pm at Edinburgh Fringe .......!
We had not done well ....
I felt a bit frustrated and the light was already fading, so my photo opportunities were massively shrinking.
We had a slightly grumpy stroll up and down the Royal Mile, before we got together again, walked into a Box office and bought tickets for 2 shows:
HypProv : Improvising with people that are in deep hypnosis (audience) and a late night variety show.
We grabbed some food at the grass market. Of course all restaurants were full and it was not easy to find a place without waiting.  However, we were lucky and found a table outside and I had some yummy mussels.
Then we went to the hypno show. It was fantastic!!! Really brilliant! Would immediately see that again! They really improvised scenes with the hypnotized people, it was amazing what they came up with!! Hillarious! 
The late night show was rather mediocre, but the first show made up for this.
I even bought a CD from that guy, hoping it will help me with my stress and sleep issues.

The photo shows the St. Giles Cathedral within the Fringe activities - randomly I would say.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.