Sunday - Mushroom Hunt in the Trossachs

After the wonderful weekend in the Cairngorms I was feeling desperate to do more of this! We live in Glasgow and the Highlands are easy to be reached in an hour drive. I also really wanted to hunt some mushrooms. Something I had done a lot in Germany and always enjoyed. It is also great to prepare your foraged meal after a long walk.
We picked a walk in the Queen Elizabeth Forest Park called the Leannach Forest Circuit from WalkHighlands, which did not seem too strenuous and offered a lot of forest for my hunt.
We arrived at the Carpark and 12 pm and started. We were lucky with the weather, there was even some un now and then immediately heating us up.
We had a good walk and we also found more mushrooms than expected. Neil even found some chanterelles. We also found ceps - my main object of desire - but they had passed their best unfortunately :(. 
After 4 hours we returned to the car. Quite knackered as we are not used to this kind of walking and we drove to Brig O Turk where we had a lovely coffee at the Tearoom. I also could not resist a flourless French Almond Orange Cake .... delicious!
I think it was almost 6pm when we got on the way home. It is only an hour from Callander. Sat nav led us via Dunblane - not the way I would be driving as I principally do not use sat nav in the Highlands and believe that I know the roads well. But Neil was driving and since we were there we had a quick look around before we drove finally home.
At home Neil was knackered and disappeared in his room to kill things on his computer and I started to look at the mushroom loot we brought home and started cleaning them.   
Dinner was lovely - I love wild mushrooms!

The Main Blip is was on the way back to the car, when sun came out. The extra it exactly the opposite direction with Ben Venue in the background at the beginning of our walk.
I must have found those trees very suitable for photographing on both ways.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.