stujphoto

By stujphoto

Dappled Woodland Infra-Red

I thought I would have a go at using infra-red in the dappled light of the Bluebell Wood at Brunt. Obviously the bluebells are well away by now and the forest floor is a mixture of ferns and dead plant growth. The lighting in the wood is normally very difficult to cope with as the dappled sunlight tends be blown as the exposure range is far too wide. I thought that the IR version actually made a better job at coping with the wide exposure range and the dappled light looks far more like how the eye views it. I also felt that it gave a nice depth to the image with the nearer trees being far darker than the distant ones. The weirder snow like effects of IR with dense white foliage seem to be absent here as most of the tree leaves do not feature very strongly. However, the shots I took with lots of bracken and ferns in the foreground do take on the eerie infra-red effect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.