Lobsters and memories

Dear Diary,


Today is another one of those bittersweet memory days.  Scott and I were married on this day 18 years ago.  But I don’t want to dwell on the sad and sudden decline in his health, practically from the time we got married.  Instead, I want to think about our wonderful honeymoon in Bar Harbor, Maine where we ate lobsters for lunch and dinner all week!


I am staying with Berelaxed, T and the fabulous Raspberry at their summer home in Machaisport, Maine.  She was so kind to cook some boiled lobsters for dinner tonight and I shared a silent prayer for Scott.  He died so young, just 54.  But this is not meant to be a sad day.  My memory today is of the lovely reception we had at the Oxford House Inn in Fryeberg, Maine and our wonderful wedding cake with lemon curd filling and the candid violets I made from the ones blooming in the garden that spring. It was served with fresh Maine blueberries of course.  My grandnieces Mikaela (pictured) and Mallory were my attendants as well as my Matron of Honor, Karen, who I visited last week.  It was a beautiful day.


And tomorrow will be a beautiful day too with new memories to record in this journal.  Each day is a fresh canvas on which we can paint whatever we wish, bold strokes of happiness and hope or ragged strokes of negativity and despair...our choice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.