My " Giving Birth " Day.

It was my son Neil's 32nd birthday today.  Or as he likes to call it my " Giving Birth " day.  So I arranged to meet him at 12 noon at the Pedalling Squares cafe in Swalwell.  I have been there before a few times but Neil hasn't .  It has a cycling theme and is a stopping off place for cyclists going along the Derwent Walk.  As Neil is keen on ( watching ) cycling I thought it was a good place to meet up.

He was out last night/this morning till stupid o'clock celebrating so I wondered if he would be on time.  However he had been up bright and early to walk his girlfriend to work in Newcastle and we met up at the correct time.  Neil enjoyed his " Peter Sagan Panini" whilst wearing his Peter Sagan T Shirt.  Mr Sagan is his favourite cyclist and Neil was most impressed to find a panini named after him. There was nothing on the menu suitable for me so I just had a skinny cappuccino - which was very nice. 

We spent quite a while in the cafe before walking to the Metrocentre.  Neil then carried on walking home.  He was going to have a nap before meeting his girlfriend later and then they were going out for a meal. 

I got the bus to Newcastle.  My blip friend davidc had mentioned that his camera club had a display in the Central Library so I popped in to have a look.  Some great images on show - including a couple by David himself.

I also went downstairs to the shop and found a bargain.  " An Innocent Eye " -  a book about the life of local photographer Jimmy Forsyth whose photos of Tyneside in the 1950's and 60's are a unique record of the working class culture of those times.  It was originally priced at £10 - now reduced to £1.  Well worth buying as there are some wonderful images in there.

I mooched around the shops for a while ( resisted buying a handbag in TK Maxx - it wasn't easy! ) The weather was lovely again today and it was very pleasant just wandering around.

I have added an extra shot - Neil just after he was born.  I had a caesarean section and they needed forceps to get him out so he was a bit battered and as it took a while he got a bit cold so they put him in an incubator for a bit to warm him up.  Meanwhile they gave me this Polaroid photo of him. I remember clutching it tightly until I saw him for real.

Steps today - 13,325

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.