Fluffeeee!

It's not deep. I don't just mean that the water feature isn't deep. The big story for me today has been the unexpected reappearance of fluffy clouds. Yes, discrete little clouds, with blue sky between. The summer skies of my childhood. In those days we never had huge leaden skies with thick clouds from horizon to horizon. Not in the summertime anyway, and the winter was cold and clear and crisp and studded with stars.

Before this, I had actually taken a snap of one of the public art works around the water feature. It's a sectioned elm tree by the late Tim Stead and in the ground in front of it is a stone description by the late Ian Hamilton Finlay. Epitaph: The Elm Tree. I may return, but today I preferred the clouds. The living over the dead.

And the film I didn't get to see last week is still on at the Cameo! Time to fold my gabardine over my arm, pick up my umbrella and hat, and step out under these wonderful unreal skies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.