FLOWER FRIDAY

In the same way that the year has gone by so quickly, so do the weeks - I can’t believe that it is Flower Friday again.  

Our kitchen is at the front of the house, and we look out onto the backs of houses in the same street, but round the corner.  This Japanese Anemone plant has pushed its way through the fence and is growing well - next to a pink flowered weed, but they actually look good together.

I thought I had better get dressed this morning as going “across the road” in my pink robe didn’t seem like a good idea.  Our next door neighbour, Lynn, went off to work and we exchanged a few words - she is quite used to seeing me taking photographs - so it was nothing unusual to her. 

However, our other neighbour, Sandra, came out holding a pack of cheese and asked whatever I was doing because, she said, “You look weird!”  I told her I was only taking photographs of the flowers, which was quite obvious as I had a large camera round my neck - and thinking about it, I could have said the same for her clutching a pack of cheese!  

It transpires they are defrosting their freezer and didn’t want to waste the cheese, so when she saw me, she thought she would ask if we would like it.  She came a bit later with some raspberry sorbet and then her husband arrived with a bag of frozen chillies - now that’s weird!  However, he said that it was easier to cut them when they are frozen, so I will take his word for it - although we can keep the cheese and sorbet, they want the chillies back - that's a shame!

So I guess that’s the twist of humour - not actually in the photograph but in the various conversations I had.

Just be yourself.
     Let people see the real,
          imperfect,
               flawed,
                    quirky,
                         weird,
                              beautiful and
                                   magical person
                                        that you are!
Mandy Hale     

P.S.  I did tell Sandra that she was that lucky I was dressed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.