A little more Fringeyness

Day at work catching up after last week's Fringe-going, followed by a couple of shows cos it is 2for1 day.

Exceptionally rainy evening, rivers of water in the street, but delighted that MrsNotGraham got us into the VIP bar at Underbelly to keep us dry.

Fringe show #22: WitTank
Well this is the third year I have been to see WitTank and they've upgraded from the Caves to the Pleasance. A good sign. And fair play, they are still young lads and when first we saw them they were a really very reasonable sketch group. I see myself as a fair judge of up-and-coming comedy and I've had my eye on them. Certainly they were a cut above the other stuff at their venue, which was impressive given their tender ages, and it felt like they were almost there. Problem is, still feels like they are almost there. Their stuff is amusing, I was certainly happy to watch it, but I was hoping they would step it up a notch.
Rating: 3*

Fringe show #23: Richard Herring: talking c*ck - The second coming
Ah Richard Herring, consistently one of my favourite acts. This year's show was called Talking c*ck and it was all about willies. He's written a book about it actually, which I have read. Because of my interest in Richard Herring rather than my interest in willies. Anyway, as always this was a very slick performance with some intelligent humour (even given the subject matter). Also nice use of questionnaire-based humour, always a favourite with me. I probably preferred last year's show (about love) but this was certainly good too.
Rating: 4.5*

Mrs Cyclops recommends:

- Richard Herring: talking c*ck - The second coming

Fringe stats:

- Total shows: 23
- Total cost: £58.25
- Average cost per show: £2.53

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.