The Wicker Man

Today I was lucky enough to go to a social media photo call for a Fringe show, which I saw advertised on Blip. A bunch of us saw some bits from the show and were allowed to take as many photos as we liked, then we got a Q&A with the cast and free tickets to the show. How exciting! It was at the newly refurbished Assembly Rooms which I must say is very nice indeed.

Fringe show #24: Appointment with the Wicker Man
This is a National Theatre of Scotland production, which is always a good sign and I like to see their stuff. More excitingly (for me) one of the actors is Sean Biggerstaff who the observant Harry Potter fans amongst you will know played Oliver Wood in Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone. He's a grown up man now (and not a famous Quiddich player as they would have us believe). The play is about an am dram group in a remote area of Scotland who are putting on a production of The Wicker Man. It is a slightly 'different' approach, more of a creative interpretation with jazz hands and sweeties rather than the creepy style we might expect. One of the key cast members becomes mysteriously indisposed at the last minute, and a professional actor from Glasgow (Oliver Wood Sean Biggerstaff) steps in. All sorts of twists ensue. Now it is quite hard to judge the quality of the acting as they are acting like poor actors, however I was very much enthralled by the thing and laughed a lot. I'm sorry to say I have not actually seen the Wicker Man or I might have liked it even more, I know there was quite a lot of parody stuff in there that went over my head.
Rating: 4.5*

I managed to fit a bit of work around all this too.

Cyclops then joined me and we went to a drinks reception at The Gallery on the Corner as Cyclops knows someone who works there. This gallery represents and supports inclusive artwork produced by artists who have a physical or mental health condition or those from a disadvantaged background. What a great place and some lovely work.

Mrs Cyclops recommends:

- Appointment with the Wicker Man

Fringe stats:

- Total shows: 24
- Total cost: £58.25
- Average cost per show: £2.43

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.