Menagerie

On my way back to the car park I passed Menagerie, a new bar cum restaurant sitting below One New Bailey in Salford. It has been open 3 weeks.

I walked in to have a look and immediately felt ancient. It was buzzing ! Lots of young, very smartly dressed girls (and a few boys) preparing for the evening ahead (in contrast, as J kindly pointed out on my return home, I was wearing my "Just William" look at the end of a long day).

The place has clearly go off to a good start. The website describes it as an immersive drinking and eating experience (whatever one of those is), with a focus on decadence. Scantily glad young ladies hang from a chandelier pouring champagne into glasses held aloft by customers, and a cocktail is to be had topped with a (fake) £20 note. The bar is gold leaf, and there is a catwalk through the place.  Google to get the idea.

So ..... not my kind of place really ! But then I am out of kilter with the times - or just a bit old hat ! Give me a good old fashioned city or country pub, any day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.