Meet the Beekeeper

Manchester Cathedral has a canon who is also a resident apiarist.

Adrian has bees at home, bees on the cathedral's lead roof, and bees on the roof of the nearby Printworks. We attended an event this afternoon called "Meet the Beekeeper". He gave a fascinating talk. We tried out various honies (himalayan balsam has a good side by the way), I made my own candle from beeswax, and we came away with a variety of other bee products, including "Manchester Honey". All thoroughly enjoyable. 

I think our garden is too small to host beehives, otherwise I would be tempted.

I have had a go at the 1day12picschallenge today, so more photos than I normally would take. 101 Embankment in Salford, opposite the cathedral, looked good in the sunshine (see extra)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.