A Coot Craving Crayfish

I made a detour on the way to M&S for a quick visit to Fishers Green. I haven't been for a while.

I tried not to get agged by a couple of young women in The Bittern Hide who were flouting the etiquette by discussing and guffawing about their work practices at the top of their voices.

Once they had departed a little warbler ventured out of the reed bed and I amused myself by guessing when a flock of Canada geese would take to the air by the frequency of their honking. "Shall we go?" "Yes, let's go." "C'mon go." "Go! Go! Go! Go! Go!"

I watched this coot catch three crayfish in succession. When it was eating the second it squawked alarmingly and spread it wings as if in pain. Maybe it went down the wrong way? I'm wondering if it might be a dreaded signal crayfish. These have a white to pale blue-green patch near the claw hinge, like the white flags that signalmen used for directing trains—hence the name. Can't see it's claws in my pic unfortunately.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.