"Famous For Fish"

Backblipping as we, unusually for us, had a family meal out. It was to, very belatedly, celebrate my grandson's and my birthday,  (we were born on the same date in May) my granddaughter's fantastic GCSE results and my daughter's twentieth wedding anniversary.

We went to Smith's in Ongar which is "famous for fish." It's a very Essex place in the TOWIE sense and attracts local celebrities but we like the lively atmosphere and we all love fish. MrQ amused us as he carefully extracted every last piece of flesh from his lobster. His mother loved fish and would happily put away a dozen oysters. MrQ and I shared half a dozen. We had a lovely meal, I was very proud of my family and enjoyed spending time with them. :)

Today's poem is To Marguerite by Matthew Arnold. https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/43609/to-marguerite-continued

It's a pessimistic world view. Maybe MA's view of the world was coloured by his unfulfilled love relationship with blue-eyed Marguerite who he met in Switzerland? He returned there for a reunion with her which failed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.