Global Stars

It was Heritage Day at The Shuttleworth Collection and unusually MrQ didn't have a gig so I took him with me to see the flying display. We had a picnic in the car and it wasn't far for him to walk to the flight line. Unfortunately it was very cold and overcast, luckily it didn't rain until after we left. The turbulent conditions did result in the curtailment of the display. I missed the Edwardians again and the Great War planes didn't fly either. :(

My favourites were the Avro Anson, that I haven't seen in the air before and the Mustang. This is based at North Weald and I've photographed it many times but I never fail to be thrilled to tears by the growls and whistles of that Merlin engine.

The climax of the display was the Global Stars. I've loved watching Mark Jeffries put his Extra through its paces in the past but how wonderful to see four Extra sportscars of the air displaying at once using their special 'dotty smoke'. They traced a heart in the sky which I was unable to capture with my long lens.

Today's poem is The Sunlight on the Garden by Louis MacNeice. https://anothernightofreading.wordpress.com/2015/10/20/poem-the-sunlight-on-the-garden/

"We are dying, Egypt, dying." I like, "But glad to have sat under Thunder and rain with you, And grateful too For sunlight on the garden." This poem was written shortly after LMN's divorce from Mary Beazley.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.