Hovering Hawker

I took Ollie dog for a walk at Panshanger Park. I'd read of the pair of hobbies that have reared a brood there and was hoping for a sighting. I did manage a distant shot of one in flight. I had better luck with dragonflies, Ollie waited very patiently while I captured this common hawker on the wing. I also got some nice shots of a 'red-lipped' ruddy darter with its 'nipped-waist.'

Ollie and I had a lovely paddle in the River Mimram at the Dog Dip. (Extras) She behaved very well even when a little terrier tried to mate with her. We watched a man trying to get his dog to walk properly on the lead. It didn't want to so he took drastic action. (Extras)

PS I've been looking at my images of this dragonfly at rest and think that it might be a migrant hawker, not a common hawker. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.