Fail

There are some recipes that shouldn't be repeated and this is one of them. Quinoa, apple, spices, coconut, peanut butter, and eggs are great on their own but not together as muffins.

I hate waste so I'll experiment and see if I can turn them into some sort of breakfast. I'll let you know ;-)

This isn't an emergency blip. Muffin fail status aside I'm delighted to remember 6 years on from the 7.1 earthquake with a mundane and ordinary blip. I remember a moment during that first day when I knew I'd learned the value of ordinary and mundane. I'd have given anything for an ordinary day. At some level I knew my life had changed but I had no idea.

Today we celebrate Father's Day in NZ. I'm fortunate to still have my Dad and I remember all those who are left with memories today.

My Dad has gourmet pies in his freezer from me. All he'll have to do is heat them up and add some veges. 8 dinners sorted. They were delivered last week. He'll be glad these muffins weren't destined for him :-)

We skyped today and he recounted the happy time he'd spend earlier today with some of my brother's family, including 4 great-grand children. His smile said it all.

I look around my home and there are many touches that are Dad's. I have a fire escape from because of him, my washing machine taps and connections are due to him, the shelving in my loft, clever bits of metal that keep my brush and shovel, mop and broom tidy and use space in an ingenious way.

Then there are all the improvements in my garage, shelving, light, bike hanger, and smart slings from timber from the ceiling. One of the best is something he made for me so I can suspend a hanging chair from beneath my balcony.

I remember too 6 years ago. As night fell and earthquakes rumbled and shook through every 10-15 minutes I was too scared to sleep upstairs and anxious whenever I went up there. I called Dad and he was on the phone while I went up and got everything I needed to sleep downstairs on the sofa. He stayed on the phone until I was settled on the sofa. I'll never forget that.

Yes, I'm fortunate to still have my Dad. He copes incredibly well and I know Mum must be proud of him. Dad, I promise I won't repeat these muffins but I will make you a bacon and egg pie and an apple pie next time I see you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.