The Will to Live

Dear Diary,

This is a little Locust tree growing up between the floor boards in my potting shed.  I was astonished to see it there but I shouldn't have been,  I know locust trees, they have an amazing desire to live.  Even after I cut down two in front of my house 20 years ago the old roots still continue to send up new shoots.  It is nearly impossible to kill them.

You have to acknowledge this overwhelming need to live.  While many curse the locust tree I have nothing but admiration for its tenacity and determination.  It never quits trying to live.  I will pull out this shoot but I know another will take its place.  The roots of a locust can extend hundreds of feet from the tree and at any point a new shoot can appear.  Life lessons are everywhere if you look for them.

“To combat death you don't need much of a life, just one that isn't yet finished.”  - Herta Muller, The Hunger Angel

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.