A Bee-utiful Labor Day!

Dear Diary,

Labor Day is the unofficial end of summer.  Time to put away the white pants (one never wears white after Labor Day!) and get ready for the start of a new school year.  Of course, there is plenty of summer weather left and the bees are taking full advantage of the time.  The sedum are in full bloom now, most of the rest of the garden has gone into an early retirement because of the drought.  A sad sight but the sedum looks really good.

I can watch these busy little creatures for hours and I saw three different varieties of bee on one bloom.  They don't seem to have any problem sharing the wealth...there is plenty for everyone.

I have a busy week ahead with my garden helper coming to begin cutting back some of the perennials but I have something wonderful to look forward to.  I have tickets to tour the Winslow Homer Studio in Portland on Friday with my dear friend Karen.  It is something I've wanted to do since in was opened after extensive renovations.  Always good to have a treat to anticipate!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.